Election Day, Nov 3 9 daysSenate D 78%House D 93%Governors D 86%Forecast updated Oct 25

What is on file for my candidate? A file on every member of Congress, governor and 2026 nominee: who funds them, the decisions on their desk, and the sources.

Watchdog file · NH

John E. Sununu

Republican, running for U.S. Senate. Not in office now.

Tier 2 compactCook: Lean DnomineeResearch priority 2
Money ties on file25
Researched decisions51 more from office and committees
Interest blocs8
Compiled2026-10-25

Subject: John E. Sununu, Republican nominee for U.S. Senate in New Hampshire, 2026, U.S. Senator from 2003 to 2009 and a former three term congressman Compiled: October 25, 2026 for the On Point Politics watchdog database, onpointpolitics.us Data cutoff: FEC data through October 14, 2026 and independent expenditures through October 23, 2026, as compiled by VoteLog on October 24. Next scheduled data drop: Post general FEC report due December 3, 2026, and 24 hour independent expenditure reports through Election Day.

Bottom line up front

Sununu's own campaign is small. Outside money is carrying him. VoteLog shows his campaign at $5,681,528 raised, $3,936,991 spent and $1,711,396 in cash through October 14, 2026, with no self funding, votelog.org. Outside groups had spent $36,057,061 benefiting him in the general election, against $19,279,169 for Pappas.

Three interests combine money and a decision:

  1. Billionaire megadonors. The Senate Leadership Fund, funded by Elon Musk at $168 million cycle wide, Miriam Adelson at $30 million and others, spent $11,118,531 for him. Americans for Prosperity Action, America PAC and Protect Freedom PAC add Koch, Musk and Jeff Yass money.
  2. Trump world. No Going Back PAC, backed by MAGA Inc.'s $200 million cycle wide, spent $14,037,292 for him. Trump endorsed him on February 1, 2026.
  3. Wall Street and private equity. Blackstone executives gave $48,000 and Apollo CEO Marc Rowan and his wife $24,000, per American Journal News, americanjournalnews.com. He worked at Akin Gump, whose clients included both firms. Blackstone CEO Stephen Schwarzman gave SLF $20 million cycle wide.

Committee structure and treasurer

The campaign committee name, FEC ID and treasurer were not verified; the roster has no FEC ID for him. Main outside vehicles: No Going Back PAC Inc., FEC C00960435, formed September 1, 2026, which shares a treasurer, address and phone number with MAGA Inc., per Granite Post, granitepostnews.com; and the Senate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703.

Billionaire megadonors

Documented, per VoteLog. SLF spent $11,118,531 for him in the general election. Its cycle wide donors include Elon Musk at $168,000,000, One Nation at $132,907,000, Miriam Adelson at $30,000,000, Stephen Schwarzman at $20,000,000 and Paul Singer at $14,500,000. AFP Action spent $7,389,773; Koch Inc. and Stand Together gave it $66 million combined. America PAC, funded by Musk at $20.1 million, spent $865,563. Protect Freedom PAC, funded by Jeff Yass at $9.5 million, spent $864,273. Donor totals are cycle wide across all races and are not attributable to New Hampshire. TIME reported SLF at $17 million for Sununu as of October 5, likely including primary spending, time.com.

Inference: These donors want a Republican Senate majority more than any New Hampshire specific decision. The lever is control of the chamber and the confirmation, tax and regulatory agenda that follows.

Trump world

Documented. No Going Back PAC booked $9.6 million in New Hampshire ads the day Sununu won the primary and spent $14,037,292 by October 23. A No Going Back mailer says Pappas sold out to big insurance, per NHPR, nhpr.org. Trump endorsed Sununu on February 1, 2026, and Sununu said the race is important to Trump's agenda and that he would absolutely campaign with him.

Inference: Sununu ran against Trump aligned candidates in past presidential primaries, backing Kasich in 2016 and Haley in 2024 per the Union Leader, yet his largest single outside backer is now a MAGA Inc. vehicle.

Wall Street and private equity

Documented. After losing his seat in 2008 he worked at Akin Gump, whose clients included Blackstone and Apollo, and joined TAP Advisors in 2014, per American Journal News. That outlet is progressive aligned and its figures are stored as Secondary. A WinSenate release says Akin Gump paid him a generous salary and that his stock portfolio is worth up to $2 million, without figures or traceable sources, senatemajority.com.

Inference: Private equity tax treatment is the live lever for this bloc. No stated position was found.

Own finances and disclosure history

Sununu says much of the $35 million on his financial disclosure reflects the value of the Waterville Valley ski resort and adjacent land his family owns, per the Union Leader as syndicated on Yahoo, yahoo.com. The disclosure itself was not read.

Enforcement and controversies

  • Cashing in. Contested. Pappas ads say Sununu sold out to Big Pharma and pocketed $35 million since 2008. Sununu calls it a lie, says he never worked for Big Pharma and never made $35 million, and says Pappas confuses income and assets.
  • Tax attack. Sununu said Pappas voted to raise taxes 68 times; PolitiFact rated that False on October 1, 2026.
  • Forum cancellation. NHPR and the Granite State News Collaborative cancelled a Senate forum after a Sununu spokesman said he could not attend given the schedule, per NHPR, nhpr.org.
  • No FEC or ethics enforcement matter was found in sources read.

Deal table

InterestMoney inAskLeverStakeDecision date
SLF megadonors$11.1M of SLF spendingSenate majorityConfirmations and agendaSenate controlNovember 3, 2026
Trump and MAGA Inc.$14.0M via No Going BackVotes for the Trump agendaFloor votesNot quantified2027 onward
Koch network$7.4M via AFP ActionTax and regulatory rollbackFinance and floor votesNot quantified2027
Private equity$48K Blackstone executives; $24K RowanFavorable tax treatmentTax votesNot quantified2027

Levers and calendar

DecisionWho holds it nowWhenWhich donors care
Investment tax treatmentCongress2027Private equity
ACA subsidiesCongress2027Insurers
Outside money disclosureCongress2027 to 2028Every super PAC backing him
Trump agenda and Senate controlU.S. Senate2027 onwardTrump world

Calendar. Election November 3, 2026. Post general FEC report December 3, 2026. New Congress in January 2027, with tax and health care fights through 2027.

What we could not verify

  • Campaign committee name, ID and treasurer; individual donor list beyond the private equity names.
  • VoteLog figures were not cross checked against FEC, and the page has small internal discrepancies.
  • His financial disclosure, Akin Gump compensation and any board fees.
  • Bodies not read: chrispappas.org ; newsweek.com ; thehill.com ; keenesentinel.com ; legis1.com

Every money tie

25 rows, biggest first. Running totals are shaded and should not be added to their parts.
WhoAmountIntoInterestDateStatusSource
MAGA Inc., FEC C00892471Super PAC, one step back$200Mrunning totalNo Going Back PAC Inc., FEC C00960435Trump worldthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgAll races, not attributable to NH
Elon MuskIndividual, one step back$168Mrunning totalSenate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703Billionaire megadonorthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgAll races
One NationPolitical committee, one step back$133Mrunning totalSenate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703Party and leadershipthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgSLF affiliated nonprofit; all races
Koch Inc. and Stand Together Inc.Corporation, one step back$66.0Mrunning totalAmericans for Prosperity Action, FEC C00687103Billionaire megadonorthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgKoch Inc. $30M and $10M entries, Stand Together $26M; all races; Jim C. Walton also $7M
Miriam AdelsonIndividual, one step back$30.0Mrunning totalSenate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703Billionaire megadonorthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgAll races
Stephen A. SchwarzmanIndividual, one step back$20.0Mrunning totalSenate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703Wall Street and bankingthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgBlackstone CEO; all races; Blackstone executives also gave $48,000 directly to Sununu per American Journal News
WinSenate, FEC C00865444Independent expenditure against$15.0Mrunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedOpponent contextgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgSenate Majority PAC vehicle; runs the cashing in ads
Paul Elliott SingerIndividual, one step back$14.5Mrunning totalSenate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703Wall Street and bankingthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgAll races
No Going Back PAC Inc., FEC C00960435Independent expenditure for$14.0Mrunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedTrump worldgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgFormed 2026-09-01; booked $9.6M of NH ads the day he won the primary; shares treasurer, address and phone with MAGA Inc. per Granite Post
Senate Leadership Fund, FEC C00571703Independent expenditure for$11.1Mrunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedBillionaire megadonorgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgTIME reported $17M for Sununu as of 2026-10-05, likely including the primary period
Americans for Prosperity Action, FEC C00687103Independent expenditure for$7.4Mrunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedBillionaire megadonorgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgKoch network
Donors and committees, allIndividual$5.7Mrunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedParty and leadershipcycle to date through 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgAggregator reading FEC; spent $3,936,991; cash $1,711,396; component sums on the page differ slightly
The Sentinel Action Fund, FEC C00811166Independent expenditure for$1.4Mrunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedIdeological groupsgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgFunders include Right Vote Inc. $6M and Restoration of America PAC $3M cycle wide
America PAC, FEC C00879510Independent expenditure for$866Krunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedBillionaire megadonorgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgElon Musk gave it $20.1M cycle wide
Protect Freedom PAC, FEC C00657866Independent expenditure for$864Krunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedBillionaire megadonorgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.orgJeff Yass gave it $9.5M cycle wide
PACs, allPAC$574Krunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedParty and leadershipthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgSame page also shows 79 PACs totaling $525,500; discrepancy unresolved
Turning Point PAC Inc., FEC C00814152Independent expenditure for$223Krunning totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedIdeological groupsgeneral election through 2026-10-23Secondaryvotelog.org
Blackstone executivesIndividual$48KSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedWall Street and banking2026Secondaryamericanjournalnews.comIndividual names not given; outlet is progressive aligned
Marc Rowan, Apollo Global Management CEO, and spouseIndividual$24KSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedWall Street and bankingas of 2026-06-17Secondaryamericanjournalnews.comDate of gifts not stated
John E. SununuSelf funding$0running totalSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedSelf fundingthrough 2026-10-14Secondaryvotelog.orgNo candidate loans or self funding listed
Akin GumpRelationshipn/aJohn E. SununuWall Street and bankingafter leaving the Senate in 2009Confirmedamericanjournalnews.comWorked at the lobbying firm, whose clients included Blackstone and Apollo; his specific role not described; Sununu says he never worked for Big Pharma
TAP AdvisorsRelationshipn/aJohn E. SununuWall Street and bankingjoined 2014Secondaryamericanjournalnews.comInvestment banking firm that also advised Blackstone
Waterville Valley ski resort and adjacent propertiesRelationshipn/aSununu familyReal estate2026 disclosureContestedyahoo.comPappas ads say he pocketed $35M since 2008; Sununu calls that a lie and says much of the $35M on his disclosure is the value of the family owned resort and land
Donald TrumpRelationshipn/aJohn E. SununuTrump world2026-02-01Confirmedgranitepostnews.comComplete and Total Endorsement; Sununu said he would absolutely campaign with Trump
Chris PappasRelationshipn/aSununu Senate campaign committee, ID not verifiedOpponent context2026Confirmedvotelog.orgDemocratic nominee; $23,703,648 raised through 2026-10-14

Decisions on the desk

What this office controls and which interests care about it
DecisionWhere it sitsWhenWho caresStakePositionSource
Private equity and investment tax treatment, including carried interestCongress; Senate Finance2027 tax legislationWall Street and bankingNot quantifiedNo stated position found in sources read; backed the One Big Beautiful Bill of 2025yahoo.com
Affordable Care Act premium subsidiesCongress2027Health care and pharma; Insurance and tortNot quantifiedNot found in sources read; allied PAC attacks Pappas for backing subsidiesnhpr.org
DISCLOSE Act and outside money disclosureCongress; Senate Rules2027 to 2028Billionaire megadonor; every super PAC backing him$36M of outside spending benefiting himDid not respond to the Bulletin's interview request; position not foundnewhampshirebulletin.com
Trump agenda votes and Senate controlU.S. Senate2027 onwardTrump world; Party and leadershipSenate majorityCalled the race important to President Trump's agendagranitepostnews.com
Surveillance authorities, PATRIOT Act provisionsCongressReauthorization cyclesTech; Defense contractorsNot quantifiedKnown for opposing PATRIOT Act provisions as a senator, per TIMEtime.com
Confirmation votes for cabinet, judges, regulators and ambassadorsU.S. Senate2027 onwardEvery bloc with a regulatorSenate controlNot stated in sources readFrom the office
Research notes: findings, inferences and gaps

Audit trail for NH-john-e-sununu, compiled October 25, 2026, sharing the New Hampshire search budget with the Pappas file.

Thread 1: Committees and totals

Takeaway

Small campaign, heavy outside support.

Cited findings

  • $5,681,528 raised, $3,936,991 spent, $1,711,396 cash, $0 self funding, $574,000 PAC money; full outside spending table and super PAC donors. votelog.org

Gaps

  • Committee ID, treasurer.

Thread 2: Outside money

Cited findings

  • No Going Back PAC formed September 1, $9.6M booked, shares treasurer and address with MAGA Inc.; Trump endorsement February 1. granitepostnews.com
  • SLF $17M, AFP Action over $2M as of October 5. time.com
  • About $50M outside spending, insurance mailer, cashing in attacks. nhpr.org

Thread 3: Private equity and finances

Cited findings

  • Blackstone executives $48K; Rowan $24K; Akin Gump; TAP Advisors 2014. americanjournalnews.com
  • WinSenate cashing in claims, unsourced. senatemajority.com
  • $35M disclosure explained as ski resort value; Kasich and Haley endorsements; tax claim rated False. yahoo.com

Inferences

  • The private equity donors and SLF's Wall Street donors point to tax treatment as the lever.

Campaign intel

  • Main message: a focused, New Hampshire first, town to town campaign that avoids partisanship and stresses who he is as a leader. nhpr.org time.com
  • Biggest vulnerability as opponents frame it: fifteen years cashing in as a Washington lobbyist for corporate interests, and being a rubber stamp for Trump after endorsing the One Big Beautiful Bill. senatemajority.com yahoo.com
  • Strongest coalition: Republicans, 85 percent satisfied with him, and independents who give him a 10 point edge on character, per TIME. time.com
  • Ground game: outside groups and the RNC reportedly field about 1,000 paid canvassers for him, including AFP, America PAC, Sentinel Action and Turning Point. nhpr.org
  • Notable recent event: NHPR cancelled its Senate forum after Sununu declined citing his schedule, leaving one more debate. nhpr.org

From the On Point Watchdog Database, compiled 2026-10-25. Researched by the Watchdog desk from sources read in full; rows marked Confirmed mostly rest on news reports rather than the filings themselves, so check a figure against the filing before quoting it. FEC pre general report covers through Oct 14, 2026; post general report due Dec 3, 2026